Areas of learning – Reception

Areas of Learning – Reception
In Reception, children’s learning is grouped into seven areas:
1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
2. Communication and Language
3. Literacy
4. Problem solving, reasoning and numeracy
5. Understanding the World
6. Physical Development
7. Expressive Arts and Design
These areas of the curriculum provide the basis for planning in Reception and lay secure foundations for learning. We cannot afford to get things wrong at this early stage in a child’s development.
‘If foundations prove inadequate, it is very, very expensive to underpin them later on’. (J. Fisher, ‘Early Education’)Please click on the links above to find out more about each area.